Lyerly Neurosurgery History

Dr. James Lyerly State Neurosurgical Societies were frequently formed as sections of State Medical Societies. Such was the case in Florida. Prior to 1958, neurological surgeons were included in a section with neurologists and psychiatrists. The Florida Neurosurgical Society was formed in 1958 with James G. Lyerly, Sr. as President. Dr Lyerly left Richmond, Virginia in 1934 because he felt that Richmond could not support 2 neurological surgeons. He became the first neurological surgeon in the State of Florida in the Fall of 1934 where he founded the Lyerly Group, and was the only neurosurgeon in the State for about 5 years. Dr Lyerly was also one of the founding members of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons.

Other members were Dr. Edward Sullivan, 1954-1985; Dr. James Lyerly, Jr., 1956-1980; Dr. Howard Chandler, 1961-1987; Dr. Gaston J. Acosta-Rua, 1972-1995; Dr. Melissa Neiman, 1989-1991; Dr. Arnold Zeal, 1995-2003; Dr. Randell Powell, 1995-2003; and Dr. John Hawkins, 1979-2005. Current group physicians include Dr. Paulo Monteiro, 1982; Dr. Javier Garcia, 1994; Dr Andrew F.Cannestra, 2006; Howard C. Chandler, MD 2007; and Bradley A. Wallace, MD, PhD 2007

Dr. Lyerly's Microscope

More of Dr. Lyerly's early instruments can be found at the following website: Click here

Lyerly Neurosurgery

(904) 388-6518

800 Prudential Drive,
Tower B 11th Floor

Jacksonville, Fl 32207

Ph: (904) 388-6518
Fax: (904) 384-1005


Lyerly Newsletter
  • Lyerly Neurosurgery
    Celebrating 80 Years
    HealthSource Article Honours Lyerly for Distinction and Quality

Click here
by James Gilbert Lyerly
From Childhood and Education to Becoming the First Neurosurgeon in Florida.

The Historical Committee Presents…..
History of Neurosurgery and Neurology in Jacksonville
Click here

by James G. Lyerly, Jr., M.D.